Publishing music of women composers, past and present.

Please ignore this text box. It is used to detect spammers. If you enter anything into this text box, your message will not be sent.

Alice Mary Smith

1839 - 1884

Also known by her married name of Alice Mary Meadows White, Alice Mary Smith was a pupil of Sterndale Bennett and George MacFarren at the Royal Academy of Music. Her major works include two symphonies, five overtures, an Introduction an Allegro for Piano and Orchestra, works for chorus and orchestra (including an operetta), and a considerable body of chamber music, including four piano quartets and three string quartets. Smith's Clarinet Sonata (HPC #09870) received its first public performance in December 1870; the work entitled Duo Concertante for Pianoforte and Clarinet in A was premiered by Henry Lazarus (1815-1895) with the composer at the piano. Smith was a professor at the Royal Academy of Music and was elected a Female Professional Associate of the Royal Philharmonic Society in November 1867. She received an honorary degree from the Royal Academy of Music in London in 1884. See also #09919 for her String Quartet.

Works in Our Catalog:

494-02659 - Sonata in A
494-02636 - String Quartet in A Major